Sunday, January 27, 2013

ပင္လုံစာခ်ဳပ္မွာ ဘာေတြပါသလဲ။

လာမဲ့ ေဖေဖၚ၀ါရီလ ၁၂ ရက္ေန႔ဟာ ၆၆ ၾကိမ္ေျမာက္ ျပည္ေထာင္စုေန႔ျဖစ္ပါတယ္။ တနည္း အားျဖင့္ ေျပာမယ္ဆုိရင္ ကိုလုိနီနယ္ခ်ဲ့ဆီကေန လြတ္လပ္ေရးရဖုိ႔အတြက္ ျပည္မနဲ႔ ေတာင္တန္းသားေတြ ပူးေပါင္းျပီး ပင္လုံျမိဳ့မွာ သေဘာတူလက္မွတ္ေရးထုိးခဲ့တာ ၆၆ နွစ္ရွိသြားခဲ့ပါျပီ။

အခု အဲဒီစာခ်ဳပ္ပါ အခ်က္လက္ေတြက ဘယ္နွစ္ခ်က္ကုိ အေကာင္ထည္ေဖၚျပီးျပီလဲ။ ေဖၚဖုိ႔လုိေနဆဲလဲ။ အဲဒီစာခ်ဳပ္မွာ ဘာေတြပါသလဲ...။ ျပည္ေထာင္စုေန႔မွာ ဒါေတြကို ေဆြးေႏြးသင့္တယ္ထင္လုိ႔ ပင္လုံစာခ်ဳပ္ ပါ အခ်က္လက္ေတြကို ရွာေဖြ (ကူးယူ) တင္ျပလိုက္ပါတယ္။

The Panglong(Pinlon) Agreement was reached between the Burmese government under General Aung San and the Shan, Kachin, and Chin peoples on 12 February 1947. The agreement accepted "Full autonomy in internal administration for the Frontier Areas" in principle and envisioned the creation of a Kachin State by the Constituent Assembly. It continued the financial relations established between the Shan states and the Burmese Federal Government, and envisioned similar arrangements for the Kachin Hills and the Chin Hills. The day is celebrated in Myanmar as Union Day each February 12.

The Panglong Agreement, 1947

Text of the Agreement signed at Panglong on the 12th February, 1947 by Shan, Kachin and Chin leaders, and by representatives of the Executive Council of the Governor of Burma

A conference having been held at Panglong, attended by certain Members of the Executive Council of the Governor of Burma, all Saohpas and representatives of the Shan States, the Kachin Hills and the Chin Hills, the members of the conference, believing that freedom will be more speedily achieved by the Shans, the Kachins and the Chins by their immediate co-operation with the Interim Burmese Government, have accordingly, and without dissentients, agreed as follows:

(I) A representative of the Hill peoples, selected by the Governor on the recommendation of representatives of the Supreme Council of the United Hill Peoples, shall be appointed a Counsellor to the Governor to deal with the Frontier Areas.

(II) The said Counsellor shall also be appointed a member of the Governor's Executive Council without portfolio, and the subject of Frontier Areas brought within the purview of the Executive Council by constitutional convention as in the case of Defence and External Affairs. The Counsellor for Frontier Areas shall be given executive authority by similar means.

(III) The said Counsellor shall be assisted by two Deputy Counsellors representing races of which he is not a member. While the two Deputy Counsellors should deal in the first instance with the affairs of the respective areas and the Counsellor with all the remaining parts of the Frontier Areas, they should by Constitutional Convention act on the principle of joint responsibility.

(IV) While the Counsellor in his capacity of Member of the Executive Council will be the only representative of the Frontier Areas on the Council, the Deputy Counsellor(s) shall be entitled to attend meetings of the Council when subjects pertaining to the Frontier Areas are discussed.

(V) Though the Governor's Executive Council will be augmented as agreed above, it will not operate in respect of the Frontier Areas in any manner which would deprive any portion of these Areas of the autonomy which it now enjoys in internal administration. Full autonomy in internal administration for the Frontier Areas is accepted in principle.

(VI) Though the question of demarcating and establishing a separate Kachin State within a Unified Burma is one which must be relegated for decision by the Constituent Assembly, it is agreed that such a State is desirable. As first step towards this end, the Counsellor for Frontier Areas and the Deputy Counsellors shall be consulted in the administration of such areas in the Myitkyina and the Bhamo District as are Part 2 Scheduled Areas under the Government of Burma Act of 1935.

(VII) Citizens of the Frontier Areas shall enjoy rights and privileges which are regarded as fundamental in democratic countries.

(VIII) The arrangements accepted in this Agreement are without prejudice to the financial autonomy now vested in the Federated Shan States.

(IX) The arrangements accepted in this Agreement are without prejudice to the financial assistance which the Kachin Hills and the Chin Hills are entitled to receive from the revenues of Burma and the Executive Council will examine with the Frontier Areas Counsellor and Deputy Counsellor(s) the feasibility of adopting for the Kachin Hills and the Chin Hills financial arrangements similar to those between Burma and the Federated Shan States.

Burmese Government:
Aung San

Kachin Committee:
Sinwa Naw, Myitkyina
Zaurip, Myitkyina
Dinra Tang, Myitkyina
Zau La, Bhamo
Zau Lawn, Bhamo
Labang Grong, Bhamo

Chin Committee:
Pu Hlur Hmung, Falam
Pu Thawng Za Khup, Tiddim
Pu Kio Mang, Haka

Shan Committee:
Saohpalong of Tawngpeng State.
Saohpalong of Yawnghwe State.
Saohpalong of North Hsenwi State.
Saohpalong of Laihka State.
Saohpalong of Mong Pawn State.
Saohpalong of Hsamonghkam State
Representative of Hsahtung Saohpalong. Hkun Pung
U Tin E
U Htun Myint
U Kya Bu
Hkun Saw
Sao Yape Hpa
Hkun Htee

Reference: This text is taken from pp404–405 of Hugh Tinker's Burma: The Struggle for Independence 1944-1948 (Vol. II) London, HMSO 1984.
The Panglong Agreement, 1947 in Burmese Language



Post a Comment


Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More